Lake Victoria Basin Water Board was established in the year 2000 in accordance with Water Utilization and Allocation Act 1974. The board has the mandate of managing water resources within the basin as guided by the Water Resources Management Act number 11 of 2009.

The areas that are within Lake Victoria Basin include Mwanza, Kagera, Mara, Geita, Simiyu Regions and Shinyanga (Shinyanga Rural and Kahama). LVBWB have three (3) main function which are Water Resources Assessment and Monitoring, Water Resources Allocation and Water sources protection and pollution control.

The Lake Victoria Basin lies in the equatorial region, located between 1000’S, 3045’S and 30015’, 35045’

Lake Victoria Basin (LVB) has an area of 115,400 km2. Lake Victoria covers an area of about 68, 870 km2, and Tanzania segment is about 35,720 km2. Lake Victoria Basin Water Board (LVBWB) borders Central Drainage Basin on south east border and on south west with Lake Tanganyika Basin. According to 2012 population census, LVB has population of 11 million people.

Privacy Policy | Terms | Copyright © 2018 Lake Victoria Basin Water Board Website Developed By LVBWB